Quote of the Day - We have a relationship of cheerful antagonism. I enjoy twisting his tail and he enjoys wagging his finger at me.
No Texting, Either
It'll cost you (at current prices) just over 10 gallons of gas ($20.00) if you get caught driving California roads violating this law: "A person shall not drive a motor vehicle while using an electronic wireless communications device to write, send, or read a text-based communication."
Just in case you're trying to parse the definitions, write, send, or read a text-based communication "means using an electronic wireless communications device to manually communicate with any person using a text-based communication, including, but not limited to, communications referred to as a text message, instant message, or electronic mail."
Now don't go into a panic here. There's an exception to almost every rule: you can still "read, select, or enter a telephone number or name in an electronic wireless communications device for the purpose of making or receiving a telephone call."
But don't get caught twice - the fine goes up to $50.00 for a second offense. Neither the first, second or following offenses, however, will result in adding a point to your driver's record. Since July, California drivers (except emergency personnel) have been prohibited from holding a cell phone and talking while driving, and this ban on texting amends that law. This amendment extends the same ban on texting while driving.
If you haven't gotten enough finger-wagging from the California State Legislature, then you can always listen to the Mom Song.